Writing Advice

Standard

In a lot of interviews recently, I’ve been asked to give advice to aspiring writers.

This is one of the favourite things I am asked, simply because when I was “starting out”, I would devour every piece of advice authors gave (and still do – you are always learning.)

So here are my suggestions…

1) Read anything and everything. I don’t think you can be a good writer if you’re not an avid reader. I feel like I am constantly picking up useful hints and tips from other authors.

2) Write whenever and wherever you can. I carry a notebook around with me everywhere I go and jot down sights, sounds and characters which inspire me.

3) Keep going and don’t let anyone stop you from writing!

4) Watch and listen to dialogue on films, TV and in real-life. I’ve started doing this more and more and it really does make you think about your own writing technique and characters.

5) Write the sort of book you would want to read. If it comes across that you are enjoying writing your novel, there’s a good chance the reader will be swept along too!

6) It’s related to number 3 but don’t give up! You’ll regret it one day. Keep writing; keep polishing your work and keep sending it out there!

Wishing you all the best of luck and keep those success stories coming in – every piece of good news and encouragement spurs on new writers!

Best,

Julie.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

