Why I Write Blog Hop

Standard

I was tagged to write a post about why I write by the lovely Librarian Lavender. Lavender writes some amazing articles and reviews about books, encouraging writers and offering some fab prizes in her competitions. I would strongly advise you check out her blog – you won’t be disappointed!

The idea of this Why I Write Blog Hop,  is to answer four questions about blogging/writing. I will also tag two fellow bloggers whose blogs I really enjoy reading, so they can answer the same questions next Monday, 22 September.

So here goes….!

Why do I write?

I write because I have to! Ever since I was at school, I’ve been obsessed with story telling; writing and reading. If I’m not writing something or reading a novel, I don’t feel like me. I trained as a journalist but always wanted to write romantic comedies. The romance genre is one of my favourites. It has so many diverse elements and original writers and I really wouldn’t want to do anything else.

What am I working on?

I’m currently working on my third novel, another romcom but this one features a well-known historical figure…! I’ve also nearly always got a greetings card verse/caption brief on the go too, so that keeps me busy as well as writing the odd Guest Post and Blog article.

How does it differ from others in its genre?

With my romantic comedies, I love trying to create really different characters in their own unique world. I hope I’ve achieved that with my debut novel,”Rock My World” and my second romcom, “Hero or Zero”, which is due to be released very soon!

How does my writing process work?

Like many writers, I’m a bit of a procrastinator (!) but I always try to write 2,000 words a day on my WIP, if I can. I usually find I have more time during the week, when my two sons are at school. We tend to be pretty busy at weekends, so most of my writing is undertaken Monday to Friday. If I feel the urge or am suddenly struck with inspiration, I might try and get a few hundred words down on a Sat or Sunday, but usually I do most of my writing on weekdays. I also tend to find I’m more productive if I can get out of the house for a while (there are too many distractions!) so I often head off to a local coffee shop with my notebook in the morning. Coffee, music and noise seem to benefit my creative process!

*************************************************************************************************************************************

The first person I’m tagging is Rebecca Pugh at the wonderful Becca’s Books. She writes great reviews and is very encouraging to writers and other bloggers alike. The second person I’m tagging is Holly Kilminster at the lovely Bookaholic blog. Holly is very enthusiastic about books, providing the reading and writing community with great reviews and is very approachable.

Can’t wait to read your Blog Hop answers next week guys!

Julie X

One thought on “Why I Write Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

