Healthy Competition

Standard

Entering writing competitions was not something I used to do very much at all.

I think I got distracted by other things or convinced myself that, statistically, I probably stood very little chance of being successful anyway.

However, in recent weeks, my view has changed.

I subscribe to a writing magazine and a couple of months ago, it advertised a poetry competition. The subject was “Changing Seasons” and as I hadn’t written any poetry for a while (if you exclude the greetings card verses I write) I decided to give it a go.

Imagine my delight a few weeks later, when I got the latest issue, to discover that although I hadn’t won, my entry had been short-listed.

It really gave my “writing competition streak” a boost and since then, I have entered another two poetry competitions and also a short story competition.

Ok, so I might not win or even get short-listed. But I really enjoyed putting pen to paper and writing something different from the greetings card verses and romantic comedies that I usually write.

Reading the winning entries was enjoyable and educational too. The standard was amazing and really allows you to compare what you wrote and see where you can improve your own work.

So if you see a writing competition which appeals to you, why not give it a shot? Variety is the spice of life and even if it’s asking you to write in a genre you’ve never tried before, you might find you enjoy it – you may even possess a talent for another branch of writing you never realised you had!

Good luck with those entries!

Julie X

 

 

One thought on “Healthy Competition

  1. I couldn’t agree more – something similar happened to me last year when my flash fiction entry was shortlisted after I randomly entered a competition and since then I’ve tried to enter as many as I can! Thank you for posting.

Leave a Reply

